Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Portobello Tower, Hilton Park

This tower is a landmark that I have passed most working days in the last 24 years. It sits on private land, above the M54 motorway, just before its junction with the M6.

I've wanted to photograph it for some time, particularly as it is often back lit by the rising sun. The trouble is there are very few locations where you can set up and take the shot (I don't think the Police would be very appreciative if I pulled on to the hard shoulder to capture the image).

I ventured into an old quarry this morning and was able to climb to a position where I could take a shot over the motorway and towards the tower. The sun has just risen to the right of the image. It'll be later in the year before the sun rises behind the tower (and a lot earlier!).

By the time I got back to the car the early clud had dispersed leaving a blue sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.