Guernsey and beyond

By Gsyguy

Update on Richard.

It's been over a week since I posted my last update, and today, I felt like taking the camera out and taking some photos. I have my Guernsey car and bought one of those sat nav things - they are brilliant.

In between hospital visits, today I went to the lovely town of Lindfield. This wonderful shop has some beautiful buys, as well as serving the most gorgeous cakes and afternoon tea.

Richard. As we were told and expected, there are good days and bad days. Amazing to find that when the tracheostomy was removed, Richard was able to talk very well and then go onto fluids for food and drink. No need at all for a speech therapist - which surprised everyone.

He has been moved out of intensive care to the general neurology ward.

His back operation went very well to repair the four broken vertebrae. Legs and feet are moving well; Monday sitting on the side of the bed. Tomorrow, Thursday, they are proposing to get him to try and stand - but it is going to be painful and hard work for him....

Long term and short term memory is excellent, with current memory good. He is making decisions, reading his get well cards and did watch a bit of TV today, with some programmes that I recorded on the iPad.

Whilst he has yet to have formal rehab, I am there with him a lot of the time, and probably getting him well on the road to recovery by helping him as much as I can.

My house share is great and I am so so lucky to be living in a wonderful house, a short distance from the hospital.

The support Richard and I have received from our Guernsey family and friends has been so very touching, cards, letters, emails and phone calls. There again, Richard is a very loving, likeable and very popular guy.

Once again, thank you all for your messages of support and encouragement- you are all a terrific bunch.
Fred

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.