Guernsey and beyond

By Gsyguy

Update on Mr. M. - Richard

It's been a little while since I posted a blip - missing blip, but it's been a busy few weeks.

Picture today is Richard with his daughter, visiting from Guernsey.

From my daily journal, which I was suggested to write by the doctors:
Day 40 after the accident
Day 29 out of coma
Day 12 - of no confusion

Richard has had all of his back operations now (last one yesterday) - three in all, including vascular surgery and one to move some of the screws in the metal rods. I was taken back and in tears on Monday when I arrived at the hospital to see him sitting in a chair.

Head injury. As I mentioned in my last blip, there are good days and bad days. However, since Saturday, 6 April, we have now had 12 consecutive days or Richard being back to his normal self. No confusion at all, excellent long, medium and short term memory ; his memory is even better than mine !

It is a miracle to see the progress to date - something I never imagined, almost six weeks ago.

The care, the doctors, surgeons and nurses here are top class - words cannot explain how grateful myself and the family are for the care he has received to date.

I am with Richard daily, ensuring he has books, papers, downloads on his iPad and talking to him; and secretly doing memory tests.

Once again, thank you all for your very kind messages and comments.
Fred

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.