Family Dog

By Family_Dog

Dream Baby

"I think we dream so we don't have to be apart for so long. If we're in each other's dreams, we can be together all the time." (A. A Milne)

***

We've stopped giving Ida her bottle at night. I actually feel quite bereft about it. As Arlo stomps forward in time, sweeping through stages like he's running through long grass, I still had a baby to look after. A little face and chubby hands and phases like crawling and toddling and still very much needing her Mummy.

I don't even really know why I decided to stop. Partly, I suppose, it's because bed time is so rushed. Arlo was read a story every single night from about 4 months. Ida gets read to during the day, but bedtime stories are more sporadic. It's not been sitting comfortably with me at all. I realised if the bottle was cut, bed time would be more relaxed and she could have a story with a cup of milk before bed.

This new way gives her everything she needs at bed time which is great, but I can't help lamenting the fact I've chopped out a really lovely chunk of time together that I know, from experience, is difficult to recreate without a bottle. I remember when we stopped giving Arlo his night time milk and we realised we wanted another baby...

...Ha ha ha.

(p.s - this photo was brought to you using MANUAL settings. Wheeee)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.