Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

DREICH!

A very dreich day. The dreichness didn’t let up all day. And JR’s slight sniffles of yesterday have developed into a proper headcold, so she stayed in bed most of the day. Yes, the gym was cancelled last night, and the visits to friends across town we were planning to do this afternoon were also cancelled.

Hazel, our neighbour, has gone off to visit her son in London for Christmas - it’s been quite a worry - was it all going to be cancelled at the last minute? Were the trains going to be running? Indeed - should she even go?

Archie and I went out for a couple of walks. In the afternoon we went to the Links. Very very dreich. But the local hotel, the Black Ivy (in the distance) does make a super effort to cheer the place up. (Extra)

In the afternoon, JR got up to watch some television. ‘A Place in the Sun’ ‘Escape to the Chateau’ and ‘Scotland’s Christmas House of the Year’ (which I dozed through). We then watched the final episode of ‘Succession’. Quite glad it’s finished, but I enjoyed reading the Guardian blog about each episode - filled in bits I’d missed. The day soon goes.

Jon Snow, the long-time presenter of Channel 4 News, finished tonight after 32 years, so he had a bit of a send off. Gosh - he’s met just about everybody! - including Idi Amin. I must admit, I had a tear in my eye…

Hope JR feels a bit better tomorrow. I’ve been administering hot lemon and honey drinks, and another dose of ‘Night Nurse’ tonight should do the trick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.