Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

No Pip this morning - dad is working from home - so Archie and I took a walk round the Links. JR went into town (after the gym) but texted me on the way down on the bus that the newest cafe in the neighbourhood had opened at last. It’s been in development for at least a year. And has shown no sign of opening any time soon - there are no chairs and tables, only a couple of benches round the big windows.

So, we hot-footed it home that way instead. Yes, it’s open. It is a sister restaurant of Toast in Leith, which is a super place, I used to go there a lot after my physio. But this one doesn’t look like they’re going to do food. Just coffees, cakes, and wines. Dog friendly!

In the evening we popped over to give a Hazel a present (bottle shaped) and wish her a happy Christmas (she’s off down to visit her son in London tomorrow) and then pop next door to our neighbours for a wee glass of bubbly. They have done such a lot to the flat, it’s looking really nice. But the main attraction was that they have two wee kittens, Harris and Tweed. Sooooo cute! Of course, one of them sat with JR, who is allergic to cats…

And I persuaded JR just to wear my last year’s Christmas jumper, not to bother getting dolled up. Mind you, she also wore it for the official Christmas card/ email/ WhatsApp message. I love my Christmas jumper, and have barely had it off my back for the last fortnight.

Two more sleeps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.