Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Spring clean

It drizzled for most of the day. Not that I went out in it, but the others did. In fact, I had a very long lie in, reading listening to my book, which I’ve been toiling over for weeks, not because it’s not interesting - it is - but because I tend to get comfy, sit down to just listen, and so I invariably doze off.

Actually, it was good to stay out of JR’s way - she was in a spring cleaning mood, which is odd in December. The kitchen pantry has been promised a clear out for many weeks years. There are several large shelves that go right up to the ceiling, which are good for storing things and then forgetting about them.

Quite a haul: a picnic basket with three thermos flasks, a pasta maker, a large combi van biscuit tin, a three tier cake stand, a set of lovely crême brûlée dishes, an electric mixer, a waffle maker, a huge mandolin chopper contraption and a cake transporter. Some items will go to a charity shop, and some will have a new lease of life. 

I can predict that the pasta maker WILL go to a charity shop. I used it ONCE many years ago - it seemed like a good idea - and hung all the pasta strips up on the pulley out of the way. When I came back from town, they had all broken off and were in hard tiny bits on the floor. 

Lesson learned: Best to buy ready made pasta.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.