above and beyond

How wonderful it felt this morning to have a hot shower, and a load of washing put into a machine :-) This is the kindness of my friend Joanna who made the offer some time ago for me to use her facilities. I resisted for a while..but I'll be back at work tomorrow and I really wanted to be feeling my best for that. While the washing was being done, Joanna and I had a lovely cup of lemon and ginger tea in front of the woodburning stove. It all felt so luxuriously warm!

Joanna also gave me a "care package" to raise the spirits (as if this wasn't enough!). Some toasted buckwheat to try, a vial of homemade sloe cordial, and a dishcloth which she had only finished knitting last night. (You can see a blip I did last summer of some dishcloth knitting in progress).

On top of all this, Joanna's husband Aidan gave me the phone number of a local plumber's business for future reference. I looked them up later on and they are also heating engineers, so I phoned them up and the lovely girl said "I don't think we'll be able to send someone out today" and I laughed and told her that I'd been without heating or hot water for almost 3 weeks so another day won't make much difference.

It has been very very wet today but I did manage to dodge the showers later on for a short walk by the river at Lincluden when I went to the Post Office.

I'm feeling so much better tonight. Hurrah for friends :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.