sorted

When the days are as short as they are right now, it's dark when I leave for work and dark when I come out to go home, so in my lunch (half) hour, I always go outside for some daylight. Today my break was at 11.30 and the sun was shining. I just took this photo because I liked the colours and the bright light.It was taken with my back to St John's Episcopal Church. The railway station is just ahead, to the right, and The Usual Place (where I work) is a few minutes' walk away.

An hour later, snow was falling thickly. It didn't settle -  it was too wet, but by 4.30, when I finished work, the wet had turned to black ice on the pavements and was tricky to negotiate. I am pretty wary of slippery surfaces underfoot nowadays.

We had quite a busy day in the cafe today; it was good to be back.

In other news...Hannah from the plumbers' phoned me at 8am as I was driving into work, to say that a heating engineer was on his way to our house. I told her that D was still in bed, so he had better bang loudly on the door! I found out later that he had arrived at the house, got no reply so just let himself in and fixed the boiler. D woke up and thought our son was visiting until he saw the engineer sitting outside in his van and they had a chat. The fault (as suspected) was electrical, caused by some condensation shorting the circuit. It was quickly fixed and now we have HOT WATER coming out of the taps..very luxurious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.