WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

14/365 Lovey Doves

My brother made these 40+ years ago when he was an art student or teacher - I can’t remember. I broke one of the tails off one day but glued it back on. I do love them.
I was watching the collared doves in the garden this morning and then a poem came into my head.

Collared Doves A-Courting

Ooo-HOO-hoo…Ooo-HOO-hoo
The collared doves are courting
He struts after the pretty hen
His chest puffed out, cavorting.

The flap flap flap of beating wings
Takes her soaring in the sky
He sits and ponders, head cocked
Watching with beady red eye

Soon she swoops back down again
Now she’s the one being flirtatious 
They edge towards each other
And then…Oh my goodness gracious!

I had another migraine this afternoon. They seem to affect me for about 3 days then leave me in peace for 2-3 weeks. Anyway I rested after taking the meds and watched a couple of Digging for Britain episodes and fell asleep.
I woke up feeling a lot better and got some housework done.

Now we’re going to watch The Tourist.

Goodnight Blippers :-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.