WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

The Grass is Always Greener!

I took Bella May walkies this morning as Frank’s foot was bad (Morton’s
Neuroma). It was a beautiful morning and the good weather lasted all day.
It was warm enough to sit outside - but we didn’t. I know we should have taken the opportunity but we both had things to do. It’s meant to be nice for a few days so coffee outdoors is definitely on the cards.
I had a couple of things hanging over me which needed to be done on the sewing machine. I can’t start anything else until other things are done.

Anyway, the walk was lovely - icy puddles but bright blue sky and sunshine crowning the hills with gold. A small sheep had escaped on to the track but when we came near it new exactly where to get back into the field. When we came back it was out again. Actually, the grass wasn’t greener on either side of the fence.
My walk inspired my poem for today.

15/365 
This Land

I love the contours of this land
Shaped by ice and water and hand
All those people who have gone before
Who scraped a living on yonder moor
Spinning wool from herds of sheep
Farming, weaving to earn their keep
A simple but hard life they led
Morn till night when they fell into bed
Yorkshire barns mark hills and dales
Where the farmers stacked their bales
Lime kilns and mines for iron and coal
Railways, canals to transport it all.
And if I wander further I’ll find 
Structures, castles to enthral the mind
So much history surrounds me here
I see it, I feel it, both far and near.

Goodnight Blippers - hope you’re enjoying your weekend. :-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.