Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Moody Valley

I had to drive out to Hargraves Lookout this morning to release a little native Antechinus.  They are a tiny native mouse and in fact they have been doing a very good job of keeping the Huntsmen Spiders to a minimum.  Our neighbour Greg introduced us to a very clever little trap that catches the Antechinus but doesn’t kill them.  They are lured into the trap by a dob of peanut butter on one end and as they travel along the tunnel they tilt the trap and the door shuts behind them.  Very clever really and we’re pleased that we can give them their freedom.  I took this image as I drove back up the hill from the lookout.  It was absolutely glorious down there today and to see the clouds hanging wistfully in the Kanimbla and Megalong Valleys.

I’ve had a very productive day in the Cottage Garden outside the kitchen today and I’ve given it quite a makeover.  It was long overdue after all the rain we’ve had and it had started to look a bit like a jungle.  I was chuffed that Mauzee loved my work.  Always good to get the nod of approval from the “Head Gardener” :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.