Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

C’mon!!

It’s been another epic match tonight from Australia’s Ash Barty who only lost two games on her way through to the Semi-Finals of the Australian Open.  I have made sure I’ve been wearing my much loved Adidas Hoodie each time Ash has played so now I’m thinking I MUST wear it as it’s become a bit of a lucky omen!!  We had a lovely warm up for the match when we had a “Happy Hour” zoom session with our blip buddies Mount Grace and Burradoo.  It really put us in the mood for a blockbuster performance from Ash and she didn’t disappoint.
Some of you will know already, that I’m a bit of a sports tragic and I do tend to get hugely invested in these big sporting events.  Now I thought I was pretty intense but I’m running a close second to Mauzee I reckon.  Wow, she rides every shot and I have to admit it’s fun to watch :)). 
It was wonderful to see the news come through that Dylan Alcott has just been named Australian of the Year 2022.  Dylan is a force to reckon with and has made it quite clear in his speech tonight that he will be working every day of his tenure to make a difference to the lives of people with a disability.  His acceptance speech is one of the most moving, heartfelt and powerful I can remember.  If you have an opportunity I recommend you watch it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.