The Courtauld staircase

Today I visited the refurbished Courtauld Gallery in Somerset House. It is many years since I have been there and I was so impressed with the way the building has been refurbished I think I spent more time looking at this than the artwork! The rooms have some amazing features on the ceilings and the walls…both paintings and intricate plasterwork. The lower level, the vaults , has been made into a lovely shop area which is worth visiting just to see the restoration and some very interesting articles on sale, if pricey. 
I had not realised that the Royal Academy of Arts was housed in this part of Somerset  House before moving to its present location. 
The main staircase is in the blip. Interesting that the wrought iron has been painted quite a bright blue. Presumably this was the original colour.

We also made a quick visit to see the “ Born free” lions on Millennium Green opposite the Old Vic. See extra. They would have looked better if there had been a blue Sky! I may go back again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.