Table leg

This is turning into a week of memories, but that is bound to happen when you move things out of their normal position and for once you actually notice them. Gordon had cleaned the carpet in the dining room and we were waiting for it to dry. I looked in and saw the table in the sunshine. 


This table came from my Great Aunt and I remember it in a corner of her main room, so it must be over 100 years old and probably quite a bit older than that. It was handmade in mahogany and she used to explain the clever design - it has a centre square and two leaves which can be put down, although we have always kept them open. The clever bit comes of the leaves being on a sliding system, so there is no gate leg to get in the way of diners. I think it is quite valuable, but I won’t be parting with it unless I have to, hopefully it will stay in the family. I did look into having the French polish renewed, but it was far too expensive and I didn’t want to get protective over it. It has got a protective padded cover that comes in three pieces to exactly fit the table top. I do sometimes get this out if the children are using it for something. Interestingly there are wax marks on this dating from when letters were wax sealed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.