Getting ready for summer!

Today I had a big sort out of all my seed packets. I do this every year about this time and have a discussion with my allotment partner about what we want to grow there.

As I get a garden magazine each month it comes with about three packets of seeds each month so I don’t have to buy too many vegetable seeds, usually just flowers seeds. However I do need to buy courgette seeds as none have come my way this year,

The blip shows the seeds that can be planted in January or February. However I will not be planting very many too early. I will definitely try the ‘Rosella’ pink cherry tomatoes as they look interesting. Amongst the free seeds I was surprised to find black Spanish radish which I had never heard of until I went to Wisley and saw them growing, last week. However these are supposed to be plant later in the year so that they can be harvested in December / January which I will do.

All the seeds I do not need I will take to our allotment Seed Sale in late March. ( people donate seeds and seedlings which are sold to raise funds for the allotments)  I also have surplus ‘Wisley Magic’ runner beans which I saved from last year and which we get good crops with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.