Today’s The Day

By 7:50am having been dropped off by Mrs S I was sitting in the Newlyn Unit at Treliske Hospital being looked after.
The staff started the pre op treatment, explaining what was happening as they went along.
As number two I knew roughly when I would be going through for the operation and I was quite happy with my drink, magazine and book and so it was for all of us bar the inevitable one.
Four out of six of us were there for far more serious conditions requiring ecg’s connecting and general anaesthetic and it was one of these, a big bloke, laboured breathing, who decided to give the nurses grief because he hadn’t followed the “nil by mouth from midnight” instructions.
I went down at 10:30 for what was described afterwards as an “uncomplicated procedure” which I found not uncomfortable, just strange, a strange view of the lights in the operating theatre.
Back to the unit for post op observations until collected by Mrs S after 12. Just saying “thank you” for the care and consideration you receive seems inadequate.

Home via McD’s for a wrap of the day and a coffee, I spent the afternoon and evening trying to perch my glasses on top of my clear plastic eye shield so I could read my book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.