Happy birthday Ailie!

I had a rush getting prepared for my lunch guests. Mr C did a bit of housework, to redeem himself for me not getting home yesterday in time to get as much cooked as I’d wanted.

Chris had gone to London this morning so couldn’t come. In the picture we have from
left to right, Linda, Ailie, me, Carol and Katy. We had a lovely time and thankfully the food turned out well and was much appreciated.

I made Spiced Tacos to have with avocado dip and Beetroot and walnut hummus. This was followed by Spinach and Mushroom Loaf, Roast Veg Cous Cous and a crispy cucumber and curried cashew nut salad. The salad was a faff, what with making the curry paste and roasting the nuts in it, and then blitzing up a mint dressing. Rather than a cake, I made Ailie a chocolate log with ginger biscuits. She’d mentioned she liked pieces of chopped stem ginger in her muesli so I added some of that too. (The stem ginger, not the muesli). We had it with rasps and cream.

Mr C was Ailie’s chauffeur so that she could have a couple of glasses of fizz - it was her birthday after all! So he’s forgiven for yesterday’s long walk with no sustenance. Now he’s getting his reward - the leftovers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.