Kelso

Brother in law had invited us over the border to Scotland for lunch so I took the opportunity of taking a picture of Kelso Square en route. Those cobbles used to ruin my stilettos 60 years ago. I had a quick walk up Bowmont St to have a look at what was going on at my old High School. It is a listed building, having been built in Art Deco style in the 1930s. It was a new a building when my dad went. A new school has been built on the outskirts of town. The builders are just keeping the facade and it will be flats surrounded by other housing in the grounds.

Brother in law introduced us to his latest woman friend. There must be plenty single women in the bridge club as he’s on his third since Mr C’s sister died.

We had a nice bowl of soup then he took Mr C and me for 7 mile walk along the north banks of the Teviot going past the ruins of Roxburgh Castle, to Roxburgh village, then across the old railway bridge to follow the old railway line back to Kelso. I find a flat walk quite tiring. The snowdrops were prolific in Springwood woods.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.