Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A downhill dash!

JR had a rest day. I popped up to the surgery for a routine (though not really, during COVID) blood test. I was quite excited to be allowed to sit in the waiting room, on my own - the first time for two years - we’ve been waiting outside in all weathers, even poor old very sick people!

Robert came to take Archie out, and when they both came back, we sat and had a coffee and chat, hearing about Robert’s recent walking holiday along Hadrian’s Wall. Archie made himself comfy on Robert’s lap and dozed.

I’d checked the times of the movie, 1.30, so I knew we would need to move about 1pm, which gave us an hour with Robert. Then about 12.50, JR casually asked when the movie started. ‘Half past’ I assured her, while quickly checking… NO! 1.10pm! So it was a quick get up and GO! Downhill all the way, so we made it. Besides, they never start at the time stated, it’s always the trailers first. We had a cup of tea, but there were NO biscuits!

The film - Belfast. I’m not one of its fans, I’m afraid, which I had sort of suspected from the clips I’ve seen. JR didn’t like it either. I needed subtitles when it first started, as the high pitched shouting in Irish accents took a while to get used to (my mum was from Northern Ireland, and I holidayed there every year of my childhood, so I’m well used to this accent, and I love it). I found it over-sentimental - mawkish, even - and the wee boy’s over-acting was extremely tedious, but he’ll probably get an Oscar. The only thing I liked was the Van Morrison soundtrack.

I was looking forward to a nice coffee when I came home, but the BRAND NEW coffee machine lights refused to light up… it is broken. It is a dead coffee machine. KAPUT. But I can’t really ring up and complain, as technically, we weren’t really meant to have it anyway… Karma?

Tonight I made a Pesto Salmon and Vege Traybake. Tasty, but not a favourite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.