The Big Day

No1 son said that he fancied a walk on the beach but couldn't do it in case he saw his bride to be (who was in the next block of rooms). So I went out and had a look to see if that was a possibility. It turns out that there is a hedge preventing that ...... so off we went.

We had a nice wee bit of father and son time together and both ended up roaring with laughter when father ended up soaked from head to toe getting a picture of the inside of a wave (it was a big one that arrived from nowhere) - I was using SWMBOs waterproof camera I am glad to say.

Late morning I had some time to myself when I went off to collect the brides brother. I saw some bits of Cyprus I have never seen before - and shouldn't have seen since I took a wrong turn on route. But I was there bang on time to pick him up and nobody was any the wiser (until now).

The photographers were amazing when they arrived at our room to shoot the male side of the wedding party getting ready. Their attention to detail was unbelievable and no request for particular picture was too much trouble (a trait that continued throughout the day).

With the Cygnet having been ill during the night and all the new faces and experiences going on I wasn't sure if he would be up to acting as 'Ring Bearer' but I did my best to explain all that was happening as everyone got ready and had pictures taken under direction. He was fascinated. However, as he was leaving his room to come up with his parents to join everyone, he trapped his fingers in the patio door. I thought that would be the end of his involvement - but no, after getting plasters (from the Grooms emergency kit in his sporran - a gift from a very thoughtful friend) he was happy to take Jill's hand (the female half of the photographic crew) and go and start his official duties.

We were all taken to the wedding marquee (where the Cygnet did a grand job) to await the arrival of the bride. Unfortunately the mother of the bride arrived and did her usual loud mouthed entrance to make sure she was the centre of attention. However, her son basically told her to button it and all was quiet when the truly beautiful bride arrived.

Within 10 minutes I had another, very welcome, member of the family.

There were loads of pictures rattled off and even when Simon (the male half of the team) dropped his big camera and bent the hotshoe all out of shape (he had another 2 bodies so it wasn't a total disaster). The groom laughingly mentioned fixing it with a Leatherman multi-tool and that was the route taken - I headed off and got it and when I went to hand it to Simon and he asked if I would go and do it. I was rather surprised but rather humbled at his trust in me. He did say later that he wouldn't normally allow anyone else to touch his gear. With some trepidation I set to on his very expensive work tool. Thankfully it all went well and it was up and running shortly after. The only fly in the ointment over pictures was when it came to the one off bride/groom and fathers and The Mother-In-Law-From Hell dragged off her husband spouting that there would be "No father shots". Some battles are not worth fighting and I wasn't going to cause any friction.
Judging by the speed it vanished I assume that the punch and champagne I laid on was enjoyed by her family (MILFH refused to supply it due to it costing money) ............. One all on the battle front.

When the speeches and cake cutting had been done and we were all taken to the tables where we were to eat (they do things in a funny order here) and all settled LML was photographed handing a padlock to the bride. This was later locked onto a branch on what is known as 'The Lovers Tree' where the bride and groom were taken for some private pictures. The significance of the padlock is the lovers initials are scratched into it and then locked onto something immovable (like a bridge or fence) and then the keys thrown away so they cannot be retrieved to indicate the fact that the couple are locked together for all time). When No1 son and his wife arrived back pictures were taken of then throwing the keys into the sea.

The dancing and the chatting went off fine afterwards with Bags, son-in-law, SWMBO and me taking it in turns to babysit. The volume of the music was the same at our room as it was at the dance (about 300 yards) ...... impressive - but not overly loud I have to say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.