Sisters in 1920

Following on from my blip two days ago this is one of my mother aged about 9 and one of her sisters who was 8 years older. This is a large photo which we have in a frame in our hall…the only large one we have… so not sure why it was taken as obviously in a studio. 

My mother was one of 10 children, she was the youngest and her oldest sister was 18 years older than her and looked after her a lot when she was young.  Two did not survive infancy and one had an accident and was killed in his early 20’s but the other 7 were all alive when I was young and all lived within an hour or less of our house.  All got married and only one had no children ( she was the only one who was not involved in farming and did not marry until later in life) and I had 10 cousins on this side of the family and 7 cousins on my fathers side, all of whom were quite a bit older than me and my brother. So we had lots of big family get togethers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.