Tangled Up In Blue

Last night’s “office” mid gig. Leads that started out nice and neat are now just all tangled together and will need sorting before the second set. “Blue” was definitely the theme for last night - and not just because of the stage lighting! My new guitar is a colour known as “Lake Placid Blue”, and we played a lot of 12 bars blues numbers last night. Which suited me fine because I’ve been practicing playing the bass lines for those songs in a “I, III, V” pattern rather than just playing the root notes (musos will understand!) Sounded a lot better, though I did miss a few in the faster numbers! Still, practice makes perfect, so I’ll persevere. The guitar sounded good, but I think I will upgrade the pickup in due course as I was struggling for volume at times and couldn’t turn up any further. At the same settings my Bronco bass (which has had a Seymour Duncan pickup upgrade) was virtually blowing up the speakers!
A late finish has inevitably meant a late start today. Treated us to a bacon bun for breakfast and then went into town for a coffee. Which turned out to be a big mistake as the rain suddenly turned torrential as we tried to dash across Market Place to Cafe Nero. Had to wait for a slight gap before running as fast as possible. We had a lovely coffee and treated ourselves to a cake because we were wet! Drying out back home now with no intention of venturing out again before tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.