Key to the Highway

Mrs C has been out in the Lakes all day with her camera club, no doubt enjoying the glorious sunshine we have had today. I, by contrast have done absolutely nothing. Nowt, nada, sod all. The day has been spent slumped in a chair either watching telly or dozing. I should feel guilty at this lack of activity but I really don’t. I think I just needed a day to switch off and recharge my mental batteries. But I do need a blip for the day. Not wishing to move more than a few feet from my comfy armchair I spotted this key we had hung up earlier in the week.
When Mrs C was growing up, her father owned a couple of houses. The family home was promised to her brother and her grandmothers house just round the corner was promised to her. But for a variety of reasons, that house was subsequently sold. However, when we cleared the family home a few years back we found a rusty old key with a cardboard tag on it - the old front door key to the house she should have inherited! I cleaned it up, mounted it and we hung it up in our house as a reminder of “what might have been”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.