WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

A Spring Day!

We spent time in the garden, tidying up, repotting, potting on seedlings (me) and Frank attached the trellis to the fence for the rambling rose and honeysuckle. 
I was checking my baby pepper seedlings yesterday and all five had aphids,
they only have their first set of leaves. They must have come from the lemon tree which os also on the kitchen window ledge so I have sprayed the tree with a weak washing up liquid solution. I potted the pepper plants on and they look OK so I think I got them in time.

A favourite tea tonight, jacket potatoes, chilli beans and home made coleslaw.

When I was digging around in the garden and felt the earth in my hand and saw the first flowers blooming,  it made me think how rich I am in my life - not in money or posessions but in family, in love, in friends and in nature and how poor someone like Putin is in his sad life. 
Hence my poem today.

58/365 
Rich Man, Poor Man

I wonder if the richest man 
Finds joy in the mundane
Does he smile at the antics
Of children, laugh at their jokes?

Does he feel pleasure when
The first flower of Spring opens?
Enjoy the feel of the earth
Crumbling between his fingers?

Does he delight in the sunrise?
Wonder at the fullness of the moon?
Does a certain song bring tears
To those cold, expressionless eyes?

In normal life I might feel sorry
For one who lacks such emotion.
Whose only pleasures are power,
Assets, control and aggression.

For this man, who maybe rich
In money and material things
Yet poor in respect and love
All I feel is disdain and anger.

I feel so sad and angry every time I hear that a child has died in the conflict.
It makes me think of our grandchildren and their parents and of how we would feel.

Thanks for the lovely comments, stars and hearts.
Blipfoto is a wonderful place to voice and share our joys and at present our sadnesses. 

Goodnight my friends :-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.