WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Snowdrops out front.

After my latish night at the pub last night - well 10pm is late for me! - I had a chilled out day.
Read the Weekend Guardian - which Frank had to drive to the next village for as I went to our local shop and they didn’t get their delivery due to lack of drivers!
It was interesting to read all the different takes and explanations of ‘the war’ from various journalists. They have the best independent writers and reporters in my opinion.
We had pizza for tea - not home made - but very yummy. Tesco’s have a fine Plant Kitchen range and their vegan pizza is the best we’ve tasted yet and it’s thin crust which I love.
Then we really spoiled ourselves with vegan Magnums! Naughty!

The news is very upsetting and that’s me on my sofa at home. Imagine how it must be for those in the midst. I feel compelled to watch what is going on as I feel it would be too easy for me to shy away. That monstrous evil man needs to be gone!
My poem today was inspired by the Ukrainian woman who tried to give Russian soldiers sunflower seeds to put in their pockets so that if they die sunflowers would grow where they fell.

57/365
Flowers will Bloom

Even as the the snow 
Lies thick on the ground,
The Snowdrop pushes up
Tough in its delicacy.

Even as sirens blare and 
And tanks roll in, bombs fall
In Ukraine, seeds will be sown,
Sunflowers turn to face the sun.

Even as that madman wages war 
And his Russian subjects protest,
The Chamomile will dance 
In the summer breeze.

Even as Afghanistan is forced
To sell tiny daughters to old men,
Tulips will bloom, red and yellow
Somewhere in the wild.

Even in Yemen where babies cry
With hunger,  generations are lost,
Coffea Arabia plants flower
Producing beans high in the hills.

Even in Ethiopia, in the years
Of conflict and famine,
The Calla Lily will pervade
The air with its sweet fragrance.

Even in an uncertain world,
Where people fight, flee or die,
There will always be flowers
To give hope where there is little.


Going to watch more of afterlife now.

Thank you for all your kind comments and stars and hearts the last few days. I think we have all been badly affected by the Russian invasion.
Goodnight Blip friends :-)X. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.