Parked

The stroller has been parked here the last few times we've walked down Xwaaqw'um and it's still here today. I think it's a freebie! Very odd place to leave it parked otherwise, with no sign of an owner with a child anywhere.
G was helping neighbours and wanted to finish removing the stump that he started removing a few days ago. Our neighbours had a few big trees taken down and had rented a chipper to chip a pile of branches. They got the chipper stuck in some mud so called just before supper last night to see if G could help today. He managed to get it unstuck with the tractor. Phew! They had to return it today so they were very appreciative of his help. He finished getting the rest of the stump out and the hole filled with dirt. He's one hard-working guy despite the aches and pains he has.
I really needed a good walk. Walking down Xwaaqw'um always is good tonic for me. I met a couple of women with friendly dogs on the trail, always a bonus to get a chance to give a dog a scratch. Down by the beach, I ran into a woman with her grandson in a back carrier and had a good chat with her. Spent a few hours trying to sort out some things with our satellite provider and catching up with some other things that needed doing. I also got a scam call that I answered because I was expecting a call but didn't know the number. I never answer the phone if I don't recognize the number. Apparently a suspicious charge of around $1500 had been charged to my Amazon account.  When the person said to press 1, I immediately hung up, and checked my Amazon account - no charges since 2019. I keep thinking how fortunate I am to have these minor frustrations and be able to carry on with my daily life without worrying about being at war. Such a tragedy in Ukraine.  :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.