Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

And down came a Spider

It was on the ceiling but I attacked it's web with the hoover causing it to fall onto the window sill. She tried to hide in the cavities of a stone I've been hoarding, waiting long enough for me to change the lens, and posed beautifully for me before scurrying away. I'll find her back up on the ceiling tomorrow.

She is large and therefore got to be female. My resident spiders don't bother me. They keep the population of others at bay. I'm the wicked witch that decides their homes are becoming too visible and destroys them.

Many years ago, my mother had an extra large one that ran over the living room floor, every evening at the same time. We all said, 'Evening Fred', as it passed by on it's stroll. At that point in my life, apart from not knowing she was definitely 'Freida', curiosity hadn't taken over my caution for spiders. Together with everyone else, I kept my legs well up and onto the settee.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.