Heading home

Ailie phoned at 8.30 to see if I wanted to join her, Rose and Margaret for a walk from Wooler Common. I had to get moving as she called for me at 9.15.

It was a lovely sunny day with a cold wind. We did 8.5 not very sociable miles - Margaret and Rose are very fast fit walkers so steamed ahead. Ailie and I walked at our own pace - it’s too tiring to try to keep up. I hadn’t seen either of them since before Covid so it was a bit disappointing not to have a chance of a chat. Rose walks a lot and has masses of interesting routes up her sleeve. This took us up to the boggy bit of St Cuthbert’s Way we did on Wednesday. We had great views over to Cheviot which had its white hat on - no snow on it on Wednesday. The plan had been to go to Yeaveringbell to the Iron Age fort but Rose thought we’d not make it. I think we were too slow and she wanted home to see to her dog which she’d not brought. So we went to the top of a hill to look at it then plodged back over the bog the way we’d come. When we reached the private road to a farm we headed back that way. I took a blip of the speeding Margaret and Rose as they disappeared down the hill.

Maybe I should have blipped Ailie later - when she dropped me off she tried to turn her car at the field gate and got stuck. Mr C got the van levellers to try to get her extricated but the slope made it difficult and in the end Mr C got 6 walkers, stopping to watch, to help push her out.

I made Windsford’s book group veggie paella tonight and very yummy it was, so a Blipping thank you for the recipe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.