Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Exercise and Culture!

Today was my Big Exercise Effort Day. TWO sessions! But the first one, Active Life, was the killer. It was just as HARD as last week, and within the first couple of minutes of stepping this way and that way, I was exhausted. It could be the wrong class for me, but I’ll keep going for a wee while longer. The only other possible class is a sitting down one, but I’m not quite (mentally) ready for that yet…

After that session, I went down to the pool with my new pal, and we did Aquafit, which was more to my liking. It was so much easier in the water - I could jump and stand on one leg and flap around at will. Besides, as long as you’re bobbing up and down, you don’t really need to do what the instructor wants you to do.

We were in the diving pool, which was 2 metres deep for our session, but the floor can be moved up and down to make it 15 metres deep for a diving pool. Terrific facility.

JR hadn’t gone to the gym, so she took Archie up the hill for a long walk. The morning was sunny, but rain came in the afternoon. 

We decided to go down to the RSA for an exhibition, as it was free on Mondays! And I’m SO glad I didn’t pay, as it was just a load of pretentious rubbish (literally: Extra 1). One chap had pinned up 100 A4 blank sheets - no, there were wee scribbles on about six random sheets. (Extra 2) He also had hung up several metre sticks. And there was a ‘blurb’ telling of his ‘art journey’. He must have used the ‘Arty Bollocks’ website. Oh, and let’s not forget the selection of old jam jars with different amounts of water in them… (Extra 3)

But there was one talented ceramicist. (Extra 4)

Having seen enough ‘culture’ I happened to check the bus app - 2 minutes! But the stop was just round the corner, so we dashed and got it. 

Though my step count today was only 5,797, I certainly did lots of exercise. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.