Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Muffins!

JR had a day off gym today, she’s got a wee bit of a head cold, and doesn’t want it to develop into anything worse. We’re getting in to the danger zone in the couple of weeks before our cruise - we DO NOT want to catch anything between now and the end of the month!!!

I took the dogs out round the block, and then went off to the gym, though I’m still pretty sore from yesterday. But the alternative was to help with the housework as we had visitors in the afternoon. Housework vs a relaxed gym session? Even though there are not so many buses on a Sunday, by using the bus app you can time it to not waste too much time waiting around.

So I didn’t do the treadmill, but I did do an extra five minutes each on the low bike and the rowing machine. When I wrote that down, it sounds pretty pathetic, but boy, it didn’t feel pathetic at the time. I also did the dreaded back extension bench. Ten up and downs, and I really have to hang on and dismount very slowly, as I’m pretty light-headed after I do that. 

When I got home, Abi had already returned from her weekend away in Fife to collect Pip. I think they’d missed him so much, but also really enjoyed a couple of nights away on their own. He was no bother at all, so we’ll do it again whenever they want.

I got a pair of shoes the other day, but I think I needed another half size up, so I went down to swap them. Also picked up another pair for £25. I couldn’t resist that price. It was a lovely day, so I walked through the gardens - there was an orchestra playing in the Ross Bandstand, with lots of folk sitting around in the sun enjoying the show.

In the afternoon, Hazel and her visitor came over for a cuppa and cake. JR made some of her delicious lemony muffins.

I have a marathon exercise session tomorrow - Active Life (which nearly killed me last week) then Aquafit in the pool. That should work off the FOUR muffins I ate today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.