Vintage Frida Kahlo

This is a photo of a wall hanging made over 40 years ago by a friend of someone at my Quilting group. 

This evening we had a talk about the various textiles in the Museum of Richmonds collection . The speaker described and showed photos of various items , information about them and their donors, that they have from pre Victorian times to the present day ( The Richmond COVID quilt that I helped make). 

The members of the Quilters group had been asked to bring any ‘historic’ pieces of work to show others.

This little wall hanging was made as a piece of coursework on an Art course and at a time when Frida Kahlo was not so renowned here. I saw the amazing show about her and her work at the V & A a few years ago. This piece really captured her spirit and was very ornate and well executed. It has lots of sequins and beads too.

A couple of other people took things they had made as a child. Somewhere I have some embroidery I did at school!

The lady from the museum talked about smocked dresses among other things….I have one that was mine when I was a child…maybe I should have taken it along! I also have my mothers wedding dress, a two piece in blue crepe, not white.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.