Life In Wales

By KarenC

The Dingle

I'd arranged to take Tamzin to The Dingle Nature Reserve this morning, and we were going to meet Hugh, but he messaged me the other day to say that his son has tested positive for Covid so he wouldn't be able to join us.  He was happy for us to still go, and I said that we'd take some hazelnuts, bird seed and fat balls so that we could fill his feeders.  

On our way we stopped at the village with the longest name in the Europe - Llanfairpwllgwyngllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch.  Try saying that when you've had a drink, or even without lol!  The name translated into English means: The Church of Mary in the hollow of the white hazel near the fierce whirlpool and the church of Tysilio by the red cave.  If you'd like to hear it pronounced, have a look at this You Tube video

As we were walking through The Dingle, we saw the first red squirrel on the fence, and a few in the trees.  We then took the path up to Hugh's feeding stations and saw the robins so I got the mealworms out and one of the robins jumped onto my hand and sat there eating the worms.  

Once we got to the feeding station, I filled all the feeders and pushed suet into holes in the trees to attract the birds and then put the nuts on the tree trunks and in no time the squirrels came.  We sat for a couple of hours, and as my previous visits, it was hard to know where to look as squirrels and birds were coming from all directions - we even saw a Jay, which is the one bird I've been hoping to capture.  

On our way back, I had to nip into Llandudno  to pick up Violet's birthday present, but I'd done a click and collect, so it didn't take many minutes, and then I dropped Tamzin off at the beach in Colwyn Bay, where Mr W was walking Bella.

The rest of my afternoon as been spent doing more sorting in the garage and have finally unpacked the last 4 packing boxes from when we moved!  These boxes contained the contents of the Prosecco Palace most of which I will store for the time being, as we still talk about building another summer house, and some things I've put in the conservatory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.