Life In Wales

By KarenC

Beaumaris Pier

This morning we drove the short distance to Beaumaris which is a lovely seaside town,  literally just a 10 minute away.  We parked up on the outskirts of the town and walked in along the side of the beach - the tide was in, so we couldn't actually walk on the beach.

It was quite breezy but really warm in the sun and we strolled along the pier and sat in one of the shelters at the end facing across the water towards Snowdonia, it was beautiful!  We were completely sheltered from the wind and had the sun in our faces - it felt good!  We then strolled around the town, contemplated going in the castle, but decided to leave that for another visit.  There's a shop that I really like that sells things for the home, and I spotted some little blue vases.  I didn't buy them there and then, but I did go back later and bought two.  There's a gin shop next door, so I picked up a bottle of flavoured Aber Falls gin for Scott as it's his birthday next week, and there's a shop that Alan likes that sells air rifles and accessories and he bought a target holder and a silencer - he's not done any target shooting since we moved, but he's planning to set something up at home, and has also found a club in Prestatyn, so hopefully he'll get back to it now.

The tide had started to go out by the time we left so we went down to the beach to look for seaglass and found quite a bit before heading back to the cottage for lunch.

I called the care home to talk to mum, who still isn't very well.  They said she'd gone back to her room after lunch to have a sleep, but luckily she was awake when I called.  I'm getting concerned about her now, because this has been lingering - she had her fourth Covid jab a few days ago, so this may have compounded things, but she sounded very out of breath.  I will speak to Jenny the manager on Monday as I think mum needs to see the doctor.

After lunch, we took the boys for a walk and then we drove to Moelfre beach, which I've been told is good for seaglass, and I wasn't disappointed, we found an amazing collection of nicely grounded pieces (see my extra).  There were lots of pieces just sat on top of the shingle, but I used a trowel to scrape away the top layer and found lots more underneath.  I plan to pop back tomorrow to see what's been churned up by the sea overnight, it's quite an addictive hobby, but one that's not good for the back!  It's good exercise though!

Back to the cottage for a relaxing evening and we had the bottle of Veuve Cliquot champagne that Alan had received from work last week for winning an award.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.