stellarossa

By stellarossa

Early morning

I’m flagging - I’ve worked the best part of every weekend and almost every evening for a month now. I’m not as resilient as I used to be, and I’m starting to forget things - thank goodness for my lists and notebooks! My early morning walk was a welcome break to clear my head.

This afternoon we had a call from Lviv in western Ukraine. 6.5 million people internally displaced and they are worried that there are no warm places for them to sleep. 3.5 million refugees. It’s incredible. One issue that was flagged today is the sudden increase in people trying to adopt Ukrainian children. Thankfully the Ukrainian Government is on top of that and stopping unregulated adoptions. I’ve never seen so many human traffickers flood to one place - the bureaucracy may be a pain, but it will protect them. Sadly a significant number of children have become separated from their families and some have disappeared. We are seeing the very worst of human nature as well as the very best in all those many volunteers, people donating time and money and holding out the hand of friendship to those in need.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.