Jacket potatoes

A million years ago, when dinosaurs roamed the earth, I worked for Berni Inns. Although I was a management trainee and then moved through the ranks to being a relief manager I was usually the first person called upon should the grill chef not turn up for work. I trained and worked as a chef before joining Berni so I could find my way around a friture and knew which end of a tomato bites if approached from the wrong direction. For the many too young to remember Berni Inns a staple of the menu, for those too posh for French fries, was the jacket potato. If I had a quid for every jacket potato I'd cooked I'd have a lot of quids (which I'd promptly invest in beer - I'd not squander a penny of my quids). In fact I'd be reasonably squiffy if I had a quid for every tray of jacket potatoes I'd chucked in the oven at the end of a busy lunchtime sitting before I dived off for a nap to prepare for an evening of cooking 5oz rumps (well done) with fries and peas.

The reason for this reverie is that I cooked some jacket potatoes today. This wasn't for money but for dinner and as I prepared them my mind slipped back to Saturday nights stinking of grease, watching 20 steaks at a time and trying to calculate when I'd next be able to slide out the back door for a smoke and whether, when I did, my commis would mess everything up.

Other than this meander down memory lane my day has seen me finish my marking and watching the football and reading stuff which I find fascinating but many other folk probably wouldn't (The Woodcock report which stems from starting to read John Podmore's "Out of sight, out of mind" which I downloaded yesterday). The picture is of an orange - you knew that didn't you? - and it's about to be segmented in readiness for garnishing roasted breast of duck to go with the pommes de terre en robe de chambre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.