Finally!

After almost a month of no caffeine or processed sugar (and alcohol of course - that i barely drink anyway these days) the time has finally come to indulge. People have asked me why I do that and the answer was threefold:

1. It was a mental trick - if I had enough determination to do that, I had enough to push through to the end of the race. (I know it makes no sense but in my head it did)
2. You gain weight in the taper period as you're not running as much - therefore cutting sugar out helped to counteract this.
3. I'd stabilise my blood sugar level, which meant on race day, when I had a caffeine and energy gel, I'd get bigger benefits.

I have no idea if any of this works, but it's become a ritual. I've done it for three years now.

Anyway because of timing this year, I wasn't allowed to eat my Easter eggs. They've been sat here in my house for weeks. I'm afraid to say that today though, the chick got it!! Thank you to Jane and Tony for my delicious Easter chick - it was tasty! As I've not been used to eating chocolate, I'm finding it hard to gorge myself on it - so the others will have to wait for another day!

(I also had my first Coke Zero yesterday too. It tasted strange, didn't satisfy my thirst and left me all bloated. Please don't say this period of abstinence has turned me off coke :( that's a sad day)

In other news, my muscles are feeling much better and I have written 5337 words of my essay (out of 6000) - so I'll have that finished tomorrow too! Woohoo!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.