Marychristine16

By Marychristine16

POWER FAILURE

Last night during a rain storm all the lights in the village went out. It was so dark that you could not see your hand in front of your face! Derek had been out in the garden with his torch letting the water into the dam so we were able to use his head torch to find the matches and light the candles and paraffin lamps. The rest of the evening was spent reading. I could not resist taking a photo and luck was on my side as the camera setting was correct for once. However I had already submitted my journal entry and could not use the photo for today's entry, so I cheated and set the scene again as best I could. However the light is not as dramatice as there is still some daylight in this photo.
I love it when the lights are all out. The darkness has a velvet quality.
If there is no cloud, the stars are like jewels in the sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.