Another Joyful Day and then

It seemed to be even chillier this morning when we headed out to enjoy our French toast breakfast alfresco. I layered up and watched the squirrels and read a bit. As it warmed up, we decided to check out a trail leading to a pond. I am sharing some of the beauty we encountered. Can you see the turtles sunning themselves? Hubby counted over 20 sitting on various dead trees in the lake. We saw a blue butterfly, green iridescent beetles and dragonflies (I think). There are shots of unusual trees and some wildflowers. Also took a picture of our distant neighbor’s cool retro RV. Isn’t it adorable? Just another day of loving life at this great park. Then my mother called crying. Idiots had called her all day trying to get account info. They convinced her to write a sizable check ‘to prevent all of her accounts being emptied.’ Thank God she did not immediately walk it to the mailbox as they instructed but called us for advice. We calmed her down as best we could remotely, helped her call her bank fraud line using her cell while keeping us on speaker on her home phone. None of her accounts had been touched and we added more safeguards to protect her. First thing we are doing when we get back home is changing her phone number and her bank account numbers. It so happened Kristen’s MIL dropped by to give my mother a Mother’s Day gift from Mack. When Momma handed her the phone, the man hung up. My cousin went over later and she was still upset. The MIL is taking her Olive Garden soup and breadsticks to take her mind off the fiasco. Just imagine how many lives are terrorized by these jerks throughout the world! Our spaghetti dinner just needs to be heated. Hubby is starting the fire and pouring me a glass of wine. It may be a two-glass night. Cannot check the news; we are fighting our own ‘war’ here today. Thanks for giving me some of your time to rant. “When I go into the forest, I don’t go there expecting to see any animal. I go there just to enjoy the wilderness. Any picture I get is a bonus.” - Biju Karakkonam

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.