Lala's Journal

By Lala

Odd snap

No photos today so one I took the other day in the castle. I hadn’t known (or maybe forgotten) that this portrait which has not been on public display before is in fact Pauline, Lady Baillie’s daughter. 

It took longer to get up today, every morning there is a little more deterioration, and today it was the cough and breathing. Just walking to the loo is exhausting for him, and he needs someone by his side to keep him steady. I’m supposed to do stats (blood pressure, blood oxygen, heart rate and temperature) twice a day, and although he has fewer meds now, they are taken at different times. So, ever practical, while he rested, I drew up a spreadsheet so that I can record them properly instead of writing on scrappy bits of paper! 
Eating also becoming a problem, he has little appetite and ‘everything tastes funny’ so I’ve bought some energy milkshake things which he likes, but still isn’t going to be enough I fear. 
There is to be on oncology referral, he is not fit enough to undertake chemo and doesn’t want it anyway. There will be a referral to the ‘Pilgrims Team’. B (Mr L, but I’m using an initial now) was against this at first as he really wants to die at home, but when I explained we would need them for the morphine, and that I would need help later, he agreed. 

Liam is coming tomorrow to stay with him while I go into work and meet up with Stalker and hand things over properly, put a holding voicemail etc. I don’t think I’ll get into the office for a while, but hoping to be able to find some time to write some guide sheets at home. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.