Lala's Journal

By Lala

Peony tree

Beginning to bloom.

I was up early to give dog a short walk before heading off to James’. I was glad I didn’t have to drive to the hospital, the last ten minutes of multiple lanes and huge amounts of traffic just panic me now. I learnt to drive in central London, and it didn’t used to bother me, but I am just too used to country roads or motorways now! Wow, that hospital! So different to the old ones we have here, this was modern and with lots of high tech machines and equipment. 

We were met by Sam (Nicola’s daughter) and Kevin (Nicola’s partner) who both burst into tears as soon as they saw us. They were tears of relief, as she was much better today they told us. I’m glad we didn’t go yesterday! She is very poorly, has a long long way to recovery, but was fully conscious now, although quite sleepy. She was very pleased to see her us, and didn’t seem at all confused. She was hooked up to many tubes and bleeping things and is currently being tube fed. 

It appears that despite having type one diabetes, she has not been taking her medication, probably for over a year. No one has broached this with her yet, but it’s clear that she has a long road, both physically and psychologically. I hope that she, and Sam and Kevin will cope, and that the care for both is given by professionals. There have clearly been massive failures by her GP surgery. 

Her family (mum, sisters) don’t help, in fact are a hindrance but as always she craves their affection. 

It just proved to me, my long held belief that our early years are so crucial to our growth, and when they have been wanting, so too is adult life. 

We sat a while with Sam and Kevin over coffee before heading back. Liz was waiting and we had some lunch in their local before I set off home. I got home around 5pm, and I won’t lie, I napped! More emotional tiredness than physical I think, as I’ve not actually done many steps!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.