Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Champagne - The End

Another leisurely start to the day - breakfast, packing, then I sauntered down to the spa in my hotel dressing gown and slippers. Being a novice in spas, I wasn’t really sure what to do, but the water was lovely and warm and blue. I spotted a wee button on the ledge at the side of the pool, and was nearly knocked off my feet by a great fountain of water right beside me! I then pressed another button and had a cold waterfall on my head. I also went into the sauna (for a minute or two) and looked in the hammam, saw only thick steam, and wasn’t sure if anybody was sitting there, so didn’t go in in case I sat on them. I even tried the bucket of cold water with a chain to pull to tip it over - it was self explanatory… The whole thing was very pleasant. 

The taxi picked us up about midday and took us back to the airport, right to door (unlike at Edinburgh airport, where taxis drop you miles away). An easy check in, and I mentioned something about it being great that we had fast track security… but we didn’t for the return journey!! When we got there it was mobbed. I was hobbling along behind the others when some nice attendants directed us all to the FAST TRACK!! Yay. Mind you, I was frisked, but the others had their bags searched, so it still took a while.

As we arrived in the queue, someone called my name - it was an ex-colleague who had been holidaying in Paris all week. Good to catch up with her.

Charles De Gaul Airport is truly magnificent. This terminal is brand new, with plenty of fabulous seating, NO raucous screechy pop muzak in Duty Free, truly luxurious toilets, Prêt a Manger right by our departure gate. And the plane left on time - stress free travel! 

When we arrived it was a sunny evening, possibly the first nice day they’ve had here all week. 

Archie is with Elizabeth this evening, as when we organised it, we had a late flight back, but then the flights changed, but the arrangements didn’t. He may not want to come back to live with us after his holiday with his friends…

But what a truly brilliant holiday we had!

Just a selection of shots, plus more of the cute wee forged iron shop signs in Hautevillers village, where Dom Perignon is buried. (Extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.