Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Spanish tapas

A lovely sunny morning, Archie and I sat out in the front garden for a while. It was SO warm. Unfortunately, it was the reverse of yesterday, and turned cool in the afternoon.

I've got a new wee anti-barking device I tried out today, and put it outside. It was great to just let Archie go in and out and not have him barking at folk going by. I think it worked. But then he barked because Dougal appeared at the gate. And then another neighbour stopped to chat and he barked. So I'm not sure if it is working (only dogs hear it).

JR went to the morning gym session, and declared it OK. There's a nice young instructor there who did all the right things, ie, didn't just do the exercises himself and ignore the participants (as happened on the boat). Actually, he wants to work with me and give me a circuit. I think he's a bit bored, as people have not all come back to the gym yet. I'll meet up with him next week. It's so great to have it back! I've got no excuse now... 

We then went to Red Box (sat outside in the sunshine, Archie was happy) and met up with our pal who had just been on a trip to Oslo and waxed lyrical about it. We've spent a couple of days there, and it certainly was a beautiful city. There's a new Munch (as in Edvard) Museum which looks amazing. CT also made a pilgrimage to see the statue of Freya, the huge walrus that liked to hang out with humans but came to a sad end.

When JR came back, I popped over the road for a gym session. The music was TOO LOUD. And wouldn't you know it - in the refurbishment, they've gone and MOVED the volume controls, which used to be right by the door and whenever the instructor nipped out, I'd turn it down a bit. Everybody has their own music and their own EarPods. I will point this fact out to Connor when I have my session with him next week.

Elizabeth came for Archie, I saw them leaving from my treadmill with a view. (Only 10 minutes on it).

I spent the afternoon catching up with blip comments, haven't quite got there, and we are going over to Hazel's tonight for a debrief on the cruise. 

We had delicious Spanish inspired nibbles, as Hazel's going to Tenerife next week. And as we crossed the road to come home, we could hear the Harry Stiles concert at Meadowbank, miles away. And then round the corner came a vision. It was a man on a double height bicycle! Honestly. I just wish I’d been ready with my camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.