Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

It’s done!

I set to on the hedge again this morning when JR was at the gym. Boy! Sweeping up is the hardest part. When JR came back, she got the big ladder out and did the tops, and I had to go and sweep up again. Still, it’s done, and it looks lovely. For a month or so.

In the afternoon we went to the movies - ‘Operation Mincemeat’, to be precise, which I’ve been dying to see. At two hours, it was just toooo long. Too much padding out with wee romances and dancing in groovy jazz clubs. It’s a fantastic story, but it was rather spoiled by the silly sub plots. And sorry, Kelly MacDonald cannot act, though her usual ‘sad’ face to depict ‘stress’ had an added trembling lip in one scene…

There were hardly any buses - the city was shut down because of the marathon. JR walked briskly home, but I waited for a bus, assuming that the marathon had ended. Eventually a 16 came along, and I asked the driver if he went to Bruntsfield. 

‘I don’t know…’ he replied, helpfully. A young man in the front seat assured me he did go that way.

Sad to read of Lester Piggott’s death today. My mum was keen on horse racing, for some obscure reason, and he was her favourite jockey. There was even a photo of her meeting him… 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.