From America with Love

Nothing gets me out of my chair faster than a ring on the front door’s entry system. I never really know if the caller is for me or I’m the only person available in the building to let the person in.
But at lunch time today it was for me and the excitement of getting a parcel from foreign parts , America in this case was tremendous.

It took quite some effort to get through the packaging - much sticky tape had been applied with a certain amount of vigour , but indeed it all unfolded to present a large packet of lollipops ( chocolate and butterscotch)and a cheery sun flowery card from Jennie and John ( Blipper Wildwood) in Santa Rosa.

We have been friends since 1973 when they came to Edinburgh for a sabbatical with 3 young children the same age as mine. We bonded over tacos and apricot brandy and subsequently HL and I have had two of our best holidays ever in their company in the US.

It gives one such a warm feeling to know that people so far away are thinking of you in your ‘annus horribilis’. I am so, so lucky with my friends everywhere- they are the best and I hope they know who they are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.