Grey Heron

I couldn't find any Herons this morning and was about to give up, when the older female flew over followed by the young one. The young one is still very hesitant to eat when the older one is looking. In fact she drops the food and the older one comes over to eat it. I got round this by throwing the older ones fish further away and when she goes to get it I can throw a bit to the young one. I then went to find the male who suddenly appeared. They must have been having a lie in today. 
This afternoon the young one flew over to the grass had a feed then flew back beside the older female. The very young heron was also across. I was convinced it was too old to be the young one's but after watching a Springwatch (a UK wildlife program) feature on a heron's nest it might just be one of hers - I am just not sure  She certainly let it get a feed then ushered it off more gently than she is with the male. I then made my way round to see the male. The crows got a mix of biscuits and whitebait. 

The extra is off the very young one. The photo makes it look bigger than it is. It's wingspan is about 3 foot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.