Grey Heron

The Crow was the first to spot me and flew over. I only had Brazil nuts for it but it seemed to like them as it kept returning for more. The older female heron was waiting at the side of the loch and was joined by the young one who simply does not eat when the older female is near. I only managed to get a couple of whitebaits to her. I made my way round to see the male, who eventually showed up and got a mackerel filet. I got home to discover I hadn't put the SD Card back in my camera.
This afternoon the young one flew straight over to the grass and got a much better share of the whitebait. I struggled to find the other herons until the youngest one flew over to a clearing. I gave it some whitebait and spotted the male landing a few yards away. I gave him his Mackerel then went back to give the youngest one the rest of the whitebait. I was just about to feed it when a rat charged at it at speed. The heron jumped up and the rat continued running,  I guess it would have run right into the male! If the male was still hungry it would be the end for the rat!
The crow follows me everywhere round the park getting Brazil nuts, which I assume it is hiding.
The extra is another shot of the youngest one.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.