Grey Heron

There were no Heron waiting this morning so I made my way to the loch. As I got close the male flew over followed by the youngest female. I gave them both a feed then made my way round the loch to see if anyone else was around. I heard and saw the bin lorry, they were emptying the bins around the park.  The noise would have put them off which is why there was no heron to meet me. I turned to go back round and heard a heron call and the middle female (pictured) landed beside me. I started feeding her and heard the bin lorry edging down the path. Then it stopped and was waiting for me to feed the Heron. I knew the guys would need to get on with their work so walked the heron round to a clear point where the she could jump the fence. I stepped back off the path and the lorry edged forward. The young heron jumped over the fence and flew off. The driver of the bin lorry told me how amazing and wonderful that was then drove off. I started walking back towards the exit and heard a little grunt. When I turned round the heron had flown back and was walking behind me. I started to feed her what was left when the male flew back so I split the last of it between them.
There were 2 crows who got a mix of fish and biscuits. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.