Wreck

No, not the car.

I forgot to mention it but last week, on Wednesday, I went to see a physiotherapist about my knee. To be honest, my expectations were low and as we discussed the problem, I didn't feel we were really getting anywhere. But then the physio, Sarah, suggested we try a few movements and everything was fine until we did 'stand on one leg and twist gently to the left'. WOAH!

So, having (clearly) identified the problem, she gave me some exercises to do and, happily, said there was no reason that I shouldn't carry on running. So far, so good, right?

As it happens, I didn't have a chance to run again for a few days, although I was getting my steps in and doing my other exercise, as well as the couple of exercises that Sarah gave me to do. Today, I thought it was time to give running a try and I asked the Minx if she'd drop me off on the way home so I could run the rest of the way.

But then we finished a bit earlier than planned and as she was planning to stop off at Asda on the way home, I decided to run all the way home from Kendal to Kirkby Lonsdale. It's a run I've done a few times before but - duh! - not with a recovering knee.

I took this photo as I was going through Old Hutton. I often pass this old Defender when I'm driving but that's hardly the optimum time for photography, but today gave me a safer opportunity.

This was maybe four miles into what is an eleven mile run, and I already knew at this stage that I'd been over ambitious. But a mixture of pride and not wanting to fail at a task I'd set myself kept me going, and the last couple of miles were particularly hard.

This evening, I can barely walk. Idiot. Still, I do have an appointment at the physio tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.