Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2022 Thursday — Beach Lookout

All day this Thursday has felt like Friday. No explanation; just a celebration kind of feeling that accompanied Fridays for many years. A lightheaded, intoxicated, carefree exhilarating bunch of emotions. I told Mr. Fun more than once today “Sure feels like Friday.”

As I walked the length of Morro Bay’s Embarcadero, after taking the pups for a short walk in Tidelands Park, the increase in pedestrian population also felt like a Friday with the weekend arriving, groups of people casually wandering together, couples holding hands while slowly strolling.

This afternoon a “memory” appeared in my Facebook account announcing that 6 years ago today I was involved in commencement at the college and that I was also being recognized along with two other colleagues for having received the rank of full professor. Six years ago that moment was huge; it was delightful; it was an honor, a privilege, an enormous accomplishment. I owe much credit for that moment to my good friend and colleague, Celia, the college librarian, who nudged and seriously pestered me to apply for the rank. Because I had earned a Masters Degree, but did not have a Ph.D. degree, I had considerably more work to do to provide evidence that I qualified for that distinguished rank. A person with a Ph.D. and 10 years of service with the college automatically qualifies when applying.

So now six years later I was surprised at how the memory delivered celebration emotions all over again. I also knew that the college Is holding its annual commencement ceremony this evening. I was invited to participate, but I’m 4-hours away, so I declined. This lovely memory and all these emotions caused me to ask Mr. Fun if he wanted to celebrate with me tonight. His answer decorated our evening with confetti, pompoms, and champagne. We try to never let a celebration moment slip past us unrecognized.

After a fun celebratory dinner at a local Cayucos restaurant, we stopped at numerous sightseeing locations to get out of the car and to make the moment permanent with photos . . . watching the surfers near the pier in the last illumination of the day, seeing several fire pits blazing with bright orange flames and the added essence of the smoke’s scent; then a few blocks away walking to the edge of the bluff to enjoy the view and the song of the sea at the beach lookout . . . all of those put a final touch on our fun unplanned celebration.

Tomorrow we will wake up and it will be Friday, and we’ll have another reason to celebrate.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.